The National Small College Rugby Organization (pronounced “N”-SCRO) was co-founded by Steve Cohen and Chip Auscavitch in 2007 to organize the Division 3 and Division 4 college rugby national playoff system. These championships have become a vital part in developing collegiate rugby in the U.S. and are now known as Small College National Championships. The best small college rugby clubs are just that and to say that they are a Division 3 club does not fully recognize their level of play, commitment to the sport and accomplishments both on and off the pitch.

There are currently over 200 men's and nearly 80 women's teams participating in local Unions and Conferences with their eye on the prize of the NSCRO Small College National Championship. Clubs who want to participate in the NSCRO playoffs must be members in good standing of a local governing body in a league system, be recognized as a club sport in good standing by their college/university and members of USA Rugby.

One of NSCRO goals is to establish a "level playing field" for small colleges to compete against schools with similar resources, especially in terms of student enrollment. While there are some NSCRO playoff eligible small colleges that are capable of competing against Division 1 and 2 teams, few can sustain this level of play season after season. NSCRO absolutely encourages all colleges, regardless of their school size, to play at the highest level possible. Many clubs that have found success in past NSCRO playoffs have moved up to Division 2 and we applaud them for doing so.

In addition to 23 varsity sports, Albright has established club sports offerings: men's and women's rugby, badminton, and ultimate frisbee. Men's and women's rugby compete in the fall for Division and League titles and in the spring for Mid-Atlantic and national playoffs, along with tournament play.

Since its founding in 1973, the Bucknell University Men’s Rugby Football Club (BUMRFC) has worked hard to develop a program worthy of our Bison mascot. After a winless season in 2011, the team has boasted a 16-6-1 league record and made the playoffs for the last three years.  In the playoffs, Bucknell had a 5-2 record with a 1st and a 3rd place finish.

Founded in the fall of 2011, DeSales Men’s Rugby Club started by playing sevens rugby until the club grew large enough to play fifteens.  DeSales Rugby Club, now playing fifteens rugby, competes against other colleges and universities in the eastern Pennsylvania area. The club is open to any male student who wishes to play. DeSales Rugby is a group of young men that work together to accomplish three goals: to play a high level of safe collegiate rugby, promote a strong sense of brotherhood between its members both on and off the field and to serve the community.

The rugby club, also known as the Angry Young Newts, has roots going back to the 1970s when the club practiced and played on the Orchard Field (now the space across from the Campus Center). The team thrived at the time and enjoyed much success. However the club faded during the 1990s and it was not until the Fall of 2005 that the club was revived through the efforts of a fresh generation of Newts.

Juniata College Men transferred from the Allegheny RU/Three Rivers Rugby Conference in April 2013 and began play in Fall 2013 as members of the EPRU Men's Small College Division.

Subscribe to NSCRO