EPRU Players Named Collegiate All-Americans

arco Bernard (Kutztown), Daniel Wright (ESU), and Dirk Scheepers (Kutztown)given top honors

USA Rugby Announces 2008 All-American Selections

BOULDER, Colo. – Following the National Guard Collegiate All-American Championships at Glendale’s Infinity Park on June 13-14, USA Rugby is proud to name its 2008 Men’s Collegiate All-American Team selections.

The panel of All-American selectors has named 41 players to the squad and given 28 additional players All-American honorable mention.

In the coming week, 27 of these players will be selected to the All-American Touring Team for 2008. USA Rugby CEO and President of Rugby Operations Nigel Melville will lead the team on an intensive tour to New Zealand on July 16-31, which will focus on player development.

“My sincere congratulations go out to the athletes named to the Collegiate All-American Team for 2008. The quality of performance from each of the All-Star teams this past weekend showed the true commitment from the players to developing their rugby careers,” Melville said. “It was difficult to narrow the pool down to the forty-one players named to the All-American side, but now comes the equal challenge of choosing the New Zealand squad.”

The Collegiate All-American Team is comprised of the nation’s top collegiate rugby players who are chosen annually based on performance at the USA Rugby National Guard College Club Championships, the National Guard Collegiate All-Star Championships and the preceding collegiate rugby season.

For the first time in many years, this year’s All-American list includes players from all eight territorial teams: Pacific Coast, Southern California, West, Midwest, Mid-Atlantic, Northeast and Combined Services.

Players named to the USA Rugby Collegiate All-American Team in 2008 include:

Conor Coyne (St. Mary’s College of California – Pacific)
Phillip Thiel (Life University - South)
Patrick Danahy (Stanford – Pacific)
Eric Fry (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Paul Jesseman (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Hayden Smith (Metropolitan State College of Denver – West)
Ryan Duklas (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater – Midwest)
Ian Wilson (Dartmouth College – Northeast)
Rikus Pretorius (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Louis Stanfill (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Joseph Welch (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Roland Evans (Arkansas State – South)
Jacob Grubbs (Arkansas State – South)
Thomas Pasque (University of Colorado – West)
Joseph Fontana (San Diego State – So Cal)
Steven St. Pierre (BYU – Pacific)
Luke Hallsten (U.S. Military Academy at West Point – Combined Services)
Seth Strauss (Life University - South)
Christopher Frederick (U.S. Military Academy at West Point – Combined Services)
Derek Smith (BYU – Pacific)
Tony Lewis (University of Nebraska-Omaha – West)

Marco Barnard (Kutztown University - Mid-Atlantic)
Kevin Swiryn (St. Mary’s College of California – Pacific)
Matthew Byrd (University of Utah – Pacific)
Luke Council (California Polytechnic State University – So Cal)
Jordan Kohn (University of Arizona – So Cal)
Gary Golding (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Keegan Engelbrecht (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Duncan Kelm (San Diego State – So Cal)
Maximo DeAchaval (University of Colorado – West)
Lucas Roberts (Penn State – Mid-Atlantic)
Nate Ebner (Ohio State - Midwest)
Colin Hawley (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Zachary Triplett (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Nic Grala (Penn State – Mid-Atlantic)
Chad Clark (St. Mary’s College of California – Pacific)
Benny Mateialona (Life University - South)
Blaine Scully (UCLA – So Cal)
Dustin Muhn (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Ryan Taylor (Cal-Berkeley – Pacific)
Brendan O’Meara (St. Mary’s College of California – Pacific)

Players given All-American Honorable Mention include:

Daniel Wright (East Stroudsburg University – Mid-Atlantic)
Gabriel Escalera (Cal Poly – So Cal)
Duran Ngakuru (BYU – Pacific)
Thomas Katzfey (St. Norbert College – Midwest)
Michael Fitzgerald (Clemson University – South)
Dirk Scheepers (Kutztown University – Mid-Atlantic)
Jonathan Schaefer (UC-Santa Barbara – So Cal)
Eric Duechle (U.S. Air Force Academy - Combined Services)
Richard Hines (Bowling Green State University – Midwest)
Ryan Howe (San Diego State University – So Cal)
Logan Collins (Colorado State University – West)
Michael MacDonald (U.S. Air Force Academy - Combined Services)
Steven Tergesen (U.S. Naval Academy - Combined Services)
David Buboltz (San Diego State – So Cal)
Michael George (University of Wyoming – West)

Brice Collier (U.S. Air Force Academy - Combined Services)
Ryan Shore (University of Maryland – Mid-Atlantic)
David Hunter Leland (Texas A&M – West)
Kevin Hartley (University of Tennessee – South)
Justin Lotter (Penn State – Mid-Atlantic)
Nicholas Viviani (Bowling Green State University – Midwest)
Mitchell Dow (Farleigh Dickinson University – Northeast)
Alex Lichtig (San Diego State – So Cal)
Joshua Schmitz (Metropolitan State College of Denver – West)
Benjamin Goff (University of Tennessee – South)
Matthew Leatherby (St. Mary’s College of California – Pacific)
Nicholas Regas-Riewerts (Claremont McKenna College – So Cal)
Kyle Grossheider (Life University – South)

For information on how you can support the All-American Rugby Program, visit http://www.usarugby.org/goto/Support_USA_Rugby or contact John McNamara, All American Program Manager at johnatallamericanrugby [dot] com.